Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree

It is debatable whether research should be carried out by governments or private companies as it holds a major role in the advancement of over life. I absolutely agree with the fact that governments should come forward to play their role in every nation.In this, the essay I am going to defend why do I agree with the given statement. To begin with, many governments have reserved of the huge amounts of money in their respective budget to run a country that has actually been collected in terms of taxes. Therefore, it should be the prime prime responsibility of governing bodies to invest massive chunk of money in the sector of research in order to benefit mankind.Germany has realised that the emissio emissions of carbon dioxide as industrial waste is a serious threat to our environment, therefore, its government has decided in 2000 to develop a device which can absorb excessive co2 from air to convert it into a hard mass that can be stored underneath eath for a long period of time thus, the rapid rise in global warming can be halted and this billion-dollar project was supported by the government of Germany which would not have been possible otherwise. Being a regulatory body in any country, governments have the authority to implement policies and any finding came up after any research which may be quite difficult in the case of the private sector. Hence, its dual role not only saves invested money in the research, but also benefits the public as a result. For instance, during the covid 19 pandemic, Uk funded based project found that a mask can 99.9% protect the transmission of this virus and afterwards it was implemented in the rest of the world. Due to flexibility in funding government bodies can even bear expensive research, Therefore it has always been only possible to get results from those studies which can't be reached to a point of success due to lack of funds.