Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The huge consumption of sugary products has a negative impact on human beings' health nowadays. While it is suggested to raise the price of those products which contain sugar, I completely disagree with this method and think it will not be effective. Firstly, expensive sugary food will send a wrong message to the public that sugar is valuable, instead of the idea that sugar is unhealthy. Because of that, the public will still lack awareness of the damage it could cause to our bodies. For example, consumers might be keen to buy sweets or sugary drinks as possible as they could afford when sugar plays a role of luxurious food based on the wrong impression from the market. In this way, it will agains the initial willing which is to lead a healthier consumption habit of the public. Secondly, as the main ingredient of various food and drinks, sugar is easy to be produced. By setting the price of sugar overly high, it is actually against the market rule, which will lead to chaos. Thus, sugary products will be even more appealing to those consumers who are lack self-discipline and it could make their lives even tougher to some degree. In this way, those people who are targeted to quit sugary drinks, are more likely to be addicted to sugar and even being poorer and poorer. In conclusion, I argue against the idea that we should make sugary food more expensive as a solution to lessen the consumption of sugar.