Many people believe that social networking sites have had a negative impact on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rapid development of the Internet, people start socializing online. Some argued that socializing online has placed a negative impact to both personally and socially. In my opinion, I totally agreed with this statement. To begin with, many youngsters and adults who browse the social networking sites frequently are more likely to addict to the Internet and hence ignore the reality. The addiction will weaken their real-life socialization skill as well as communication skill. Moreover, more cyber crimes have been committed such as internet fraud and sexual crimes by acting to be your friends or developing a virtual love relationship which cost you not only money but also personal information and photos. On the other hand, these online social platforms are widely used and allow users to leave comments freely, without any further responsibilities, hence, more and more inappropriate languages and negative ideas could be easily spread. This phenomenon may lead to cyber-bully and even physical violence. Furthermore, due to this responsibility-free internet, public can spread fake information and news online which sometimes negatively influenced the real world, for example, during the pandemic, some public spread out information about the shortage of toilet paper has caused an unreasonable chaos in supermarkets that all people went crazy in buying toilet papers. In conclusion, if social networking sites are used wisely, they could be a very useful tool to meet new friends and communicate with different groups of people. However, in this modern society, this tool, used wrongly, has placed a negative impact on individuals and society.