Successful companies use advertisements to make more sales. What can make an advertisement effective? Do you think advertisements are a bad thing or a good thing for society?

Advertisement plays a pivotal role in marketing a product. This essay will not only discuss the various approach to advertisements to get maximum benefits out of them but also discuss their pros and cons on the populace. Two main approaches to this are targeted audience and providing some interesting eye-catching tag lines. Firstly, it is crucial that the company understands who are the audiences they want to attract. When commercials are made by keeping in view of its consumers, they can attract further sales of the product. The strength of this approach is the sales aspects. For example, if the product is something related to new technology, the main target should be the Millenials which in turn increase the sales. In addition, catchy tag lines are equally important, as it tells what exactly the product is providing in just a few lines. Taking KFC as an example, it has a tag line "its finger-licking good" which attracts youngsters and elders alike. Consequently, the ad does help in the marketing of the product and in turn increase sales. On the other hand, it has both positive and negative impacts on the populace. In the first place, they help consumers with selecting a product. When an individual goes to a supermarket to buy a dishwasher, for instance, he will look for the best and compare the product speciality just by comparing the ads. Hence it helps in decision making. However, they can also have negative effects on people. When a youngster is exposed to the commercials of alcohol and cigarettes they tend to get lured and might get into consuming such products that are harmful to them. Therefore, misleading commercials can be dangerous to our society. In conclusion, keeping the audience in mind and providing a good punch-line can make a huge difference in the sales of a product. Also, In my opinion, if the advertisements are not produced ethically it can harm the younger generation despite its positive sides.