People say that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over studying abroad. Some hold a strong view that a nation can be facilitated if its students study in foreign countries. Personally, this idea may bring both merits and drawbacks to a nation. Without a shadow of a doubt, overseas students can act as a precursor for their country. Given the fact that when students pay a visit to a developed country, they will have a chance to broaden their horizon and absorb insights as well as other nations’ strengths. Therefore, when they come back to their native country, they can easily help their countries develop. Pham Nhat Vuong, a Vietnamese millionaire, can be cited as a promising example. No sooner had he graduated from Vietnamese university, he continued higher education in Russia. In 1996, he came back to Vietnam and started up with Vingroup which has been an established company in Vietnam. His firm plays an indispensable role in the Vietnamese education system, healthcare and car industry. Thus, students who study abroad can do good for their nation. While the redeeming features of letting students study in another nation are widely acknowledged, it also jeopardizes countries’ workforce market. Specifically, some students find developed nations more desirable to live in than their nations. Hence, they decide to settle down in that country instead of returning to their homes. This undesirable phenomenon will lead to a lack of labour workforce in developing nations, which causes a sluggish economy. As an illustration, in Australia, some Vietnamese students choose to settle down in this country as it is regarded as a worth-living place, however, it may account for the lack of a competent labour force in Vietnam. As a result, overseas students also do harm to the country's progress. To sum up, letting students study abroad can be beneficial for developing countries. Nevertheless, its downside shouldn’t be ignored.