Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime issue is always being heated discussed in today’s society. In order to reduce crime rates, some people argue that the better method is to prolong the time of serving prison, while others believe that there are other effective ways that can be feasible. I, personally, support the latter view. This essay will discuss both perspectives and I will explain why I advocate alternative ways are better. On one hand, some people insist that longer prison sentences can reduce the crime rates, and they might consider the following aspects. First and foremost, it is undeniable that a longer period of prison can effectively mitigate people who commit a crime. This tough punishment and penalty will be a helpful limitation to prevent street robbery, thus in the future, the number of potential criminals may decrease due to this crucial warning. Hence, longer prison sentences can be fundamental to reduce the crime rates. On the other hand, another group of people, as well as I, recommend other effective methods to maintain the crime rates low. Using reformed criminals to educate teenagers about crime would be more effective because teenagers are more likely to accept advice from someone who can speak from experience. Reformed offenders can tell young people about how they became involved in crime, the dangers of a criminal lifestyle, and what life in prison is really like. They can also dispel any ideas that teenagers may have about criminals leading glamorous lives. Hence, this vivid and perhaps shocking control crime rates. In conclusion, although some people argue that setting a longer period of prison sentences is an acceptable way to deter crime, I still believe that the other method would be better such as education of ex-prisoners.