Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, with resources increasing and technology improving, the boundaries between countries seem lower than before. Therefore, some teachers and parents suggest schools increase subjects that provide international news for students to study. Whereas some people look upon requiring students to study international news as an efficient method to improve students's knowledge, others refer to it as a meaningless idea. As for my perspectives, I am in favour of the former, and the reasons will be elaborated on as follows. First, studying international news is a way to enrich student's knowledge. That is, students can obtain more knowledge from news, such as local cultures, food, climate and so on. Take me for example, my college teacher had arranged an assignment to let students search foreign news about food and compare it with Taiwanese food. Through that class, I not only learned lots of knowledge about desserts but also learned about their foreign history from them, because desserts were created based on different historical periods. Due to the compulsory assignment, I indeed learned more information, which school textbooks did not have, and started to interested in exploring differences between countries. Moreover, Inputting international news can cultivate students ' critical thinking. To be more specific, by comparing differences between countries, students will have their own opinions and feedback, which helps teenagers to think and criticize. According to a study conducted by National Taiwan University, inputting more international news to children from 12 to 18 years, the logic and the critical thinking of students are better than those who seldom obtain international information. The result shows that the earlier the children start to read news, the better logical thinking they have. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, reading international news has positive effects on junior students due to acquiring more knowledge and cultivating critical thinking.