Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

One of the most pungent issues these days relates to how young children deal with technology, specifically smartphones in this case. From my personal experiences, I believe that this problem is due to some causes like the addictive effect and the environment. Also, I would reckon that this matter is more likely to be a long-lasting negative affection. First of all, problems like this are not new. Yet, it hasn’t been figured out a more suitable solution and addiction is one of the major reasons. In actuality, addiction to something is difficult to escape, for instance, drugs or alcohol. Therefore, smartphones are no exception as they can keep appealing to you with various entertaining content. Besides, children are often known for their uncontrollable or not-so-thorough understanding of what might result afterwards. On second thought, the environment is another impacted factor in why children overuse their phones. This element consists of inappropriate parenting, and fear of missing out,… and because of such tempting surroundings, it finally drives them to more hours on smartphones. For example, imagine you are responsible for caring for your children, then paying attention to their activities, especially on phones would definitely be a must to do since there are some inappropriate videos or information online that might strongly affect their thinking. Another unavoidable case is that in this modern era, phones are basically everywhere. Kids are facilitated to use it and without one, a child tends to feel like they are being left behind, which eventually leads to plenty of negative emotions or states. However, this situation might also be seen as advantageous. Children were required to study online during the COVID-19 lockdown, and it was imperative that they use their smartphones or other comparable devices for this purpose. Online courses have emerged as a viable educational option because of their efficiency and convenience during the lockdown. Consequently, cell phones are used for both entertainment and studying. In particular, even children may now use smartphones with great ease and convenience. The installed apps enable kids to pick up new languages and abilities. Kids can be entertained and educated by watching movies, playing games, and listening to music. In summary, using a smartphone without proper control will clearly waste time and prevent you from having chances to experience realistic situations. That’s why in my opinion, I have thoroughly acknowledged that overusing any types of technological devices besides phones gives off more downsides than the pros. To be more precise, whether the smartphone, a wonderful invention by humankind, appears to be beneficial or detrimental depending on how we make use of it.