More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an increasing number of people who are getting severely obese in these modern days. It is believed that raising the price of foods that are high in fat is the solution for this issue. In my opinion, while this can be effective to a certain extent, there are other ultimate methods. On the one hand, the rise in high-fat foods’ costs may have some effects on the growing trend of the obese. First, the obese might hesitate about the eating expenditure. As a matter of fact, fast food which is high in fat is possibly the reason for this trend which is noticeably affordable. Meanwhile, vegetables or greens also have a modest price. Therefore, if fast foods’ payment is higher, people are likely to find other sources of diet that are within their means. On the other hand, there may be other remedies that can tackle this problem, such as education as awareness is the root of this matter. First, schools should be responsible for raising children’s awareness about health. For instance, biology, especially about how our bodies are affected by fat, can be focused more on the curriculum. As a result, children can understand the serious consequences of being obese and change their attitude towards fattening foods. Secondly, the government can launch campaigns about the health risks of being obese. As a matter of fact, adults tend to ignore their physical condition. This is because of the lack of knowledge about foreseen health negative effects that are resulted from a high-fat diet. In conclusion, I hold the view that raising high-fat foods is not as ultimate as raising awareness to cope with the rising trend of obesity.