In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In some countries, while many are of the opinion that a large proportion of the budget should be spent on new railway lines, others argue money should be allocated to improve existing public transportation. In my opinion, nowadays more money should be spent on establishing new intercity railway lines. On the one hand, public transport has a reasonable price and this allows the residents who need it the most, typically students and low-wage earners, to afford it. Therefore, allocating money to renovate existing public transport bring about more convenience and welfare to the aforementioned group. For example, renovated public trains work more efficiently and have less delay because of the break down so, people who use these trains have more convenience compared to the older version. Additionally, public transport systems are usually cover the main important part of a city, as a result, by spending large sum of money to improve them, most people who live and work in a city can benefit from a refurbished public transport system. On the other hand, thanks to technological advancement, there are more job opportunities for people outside of their home town. Consequently, the number of commuters who need swift intercity trains increase. Newly built transport system allows people who work in other cities reach home faster and spend more time with their family after work then the quality of their life will be enhanced. Moreover, in this digital age, more tourist spots are discovered and travelling between cities for weekends is more common rather than in the past, it means that constructing new railway lines between cities is necessary to cover travel demand. In conclusion, although improving current public transport is necessary for the commuters inside a city, it seems that nowadays the number of intercity travellers for work and leisure have been increased so, allocating money in this part has higher priority and more people can benefit from that..