Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Most museums and art galleries now have an online presence, but it can be argued that the virtual reproduction will never substitute the physical historical objects and works of art featured on exhibition. Nowadays, there are numerous online projects aimed at making museums and art galleries more accessible by digitizing collections and uploading videos, photos, and other documents of culture and art, so that the Internet users can browse the digital spaces without having to physically visit these institutions. This is indeed a big advantage, since visiting museums and galleries in person takes time and money, particularly as it often involves travelling great distances. Yet this does not mean that public museums and art galleries will no longer be needed. In fact, despite the rise of the Internet, visiting brick-and-mortar museums and art galleries remains popular worldwide. While exhibitions on Web sites can look like the actual objects, there is nothing like seeing the real ones in physical buildings. In other words, browsing an online museum or gallery cannot match the live experience of feeling the place and emotionally being inspired. Besides, information acquired from the Internet may be incomplete or even mistaken, reflecting only the perspectives or attitudes of people who give the information. You may feel frustrated, for example, when you try to find out how Terra Cotta Warriors look like from behind since all pictures online only show their faces. In conclusion, even when people can pay a virtual visit to museums and art galleries, they still need to go to the real ones in order to obtain the valuable personal experience and avoid being misled by the information online.