Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether the use of rubber bags, which are widely used across the globe for shopping, ought to be restricted, since it is not eco-friendly has sparked a substantial debate. While many advocate for this, which I firmly agree with, others argue against it. Analyzing these facts that it is non-biodegradable, as well as dangerous to aquatic life, would give a comprehensive overview of this subject matter. Firstly, polyethene bags can neither decompose nor can they be recycled after use, so they are often trashed. For instance, the research report, from my recently completed capstone project on environmental analysis, shows that these bags are left to litter the streets since the dump sites are filled up and there is no other alternative means of disposal. Obviously, this can only be controlled if the production is stopped. Therefore, banning the use of plastic bags, in shopping centres is the only means of stopping this. Secondly, most marine life dies as a result of digesting these bags, which are often dumped into the oceans. For example, the frozen catfish I purchased a few days ago, has nylon twisted in the stomach which killed it. Clearly, most aquatic life would be saved if the use of polythene bags were banned completely. Thus, one of the reasons why Poly plastic bags should be banned. In conclusion, the argument surrounding whether plastic bags used for shopping should be banned because they cause damage to the environment has prompted considerable dispute. Some champion this idea, which I completely support, whereas others contend against it. Examining the factuality that it is non-recyclable and dangerous to marine species, has proved the need for total eradication of these bags by the authorities.