Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rathe than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that learning English at a young age helps people to acquire a new language more effectively; however, others believe that learning two languages simultaneously in their childhood might hurt children's academic performance. In the following essay, I will explain why I believe that acquiring a foreign language in childhood cause more benefits than drawbacks. According to recent scientific research, learning more than one language at the same time is possible to hurt children's coherence, causing difficulties in studying other subjects. The main reason is that children have not completed their language system development; hence, attempting to acquire another language at the same time lets children mass up different languages. As a result, because of the messy language system, children who learn a second language cannot understand knowledge taught by teachers as well as normal elementary students. However, although this might make the difficulties academic, learning a language other than their original language in childhood is the only opportunity for children to master another language and speak like a native. Take a recent study as an example. If children have not acquired any language until they are 12, they might not speak as fluently as other people from the same country although the language is their first language. Unlike other subjects which can learn whenever people want, the only method to improve language skills to an absolutely native level is learning it before the language system be totally developed. Hence, in children's favour, learning a language before getting into junior high school is much more effective than doing so after they become secondary school students. In conclusion, I believe that although learning an additional language at an elementary school might cause some problems in short term, in the long term prospect, the advantages brought from learning a foreign language in a primary school outweigh the disadvantages caused by this practice.