In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The advanced and powerful, modern technology allows us to foot the bill through the payment applications installed on our smart phones. This has become increasingly popular in many developed and developing countries. This essay will discuss how it benefits us and also how it could negatively impact us. Mobile payments allow us to make transactions at our fingertips, quite literally. All we need to do is tap our phone screen a few times and our payments are completed. This convenient process eliminates the need to use physical cards or cash which, in turn, gives us a lesser chance to get bacteria infection. For example, we are currently facing a pandemic where we have to keep our hands clean at all times possible. We usually have to touch the notes that have been handled by uncountable people beforehand or have to touch the buttons at the automatic teller machines to withdraw cash. With contactless payment, we only need to touch our own mobile phone. This definitely saves us from having unnecessary contact points with the virus and bacteria. Despite its fuss-free process, mobile payment could cost us money without our knowledge. As much as our technology has advanced, so have the methods of scammers, who usually use social engineering to cheat money from people. We have been seeing in the news almost daily about people who fell prey to such techniques and lost their hard-earned savings to the scammers. For example, some mobile payment applications require us to log in to the system to authorise the payment. While we are punching in our login credentials, malicious people could peek over our shoulders to note down our usernames and passwords. They could then impersonate using this information and spend our savings without us knowing. To sum up, even though payments through mobile phones could make us victims of scams if we are not careful enough, the convenience it brings for easy and contactless transactions benefits us much more.