Some people think that the best way to reduce crimes is to apply longer prison sentences, other people think that there are better methods of doing so. Discuss both views.

In modern society, the crime rate is increasing. Therefore, some think that the best way to reduce felony is to apply longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other methods of reducing the crime rate. It is clear that other methods should be taken into consideration rather than letting criminals stay in jail longer. The first aspect to point out is that it would not be effective for society if criminals stay in jail longer. For example, it is a fact that some people want to stay in prison for the sake of their financial issues. If one has to stay there, they will not need to pay for anything which is related to their daily life. Additionally, it is often said that crime offenders tend to learn more severe cases from other criminals in jail. Therefore, some of them might commit other incidents after completing their prison sentences. Therefore, as far as I am concerned, applying longer punishment will not be effective in terms of reducing the felony rate. Another important issue is that other methods should be taken into consideration in order to reduce crimes in society. For instance, education should be available to everyone no matter their finances are. If one had access to a decent education system, they would be able to get a decent job that they can maintain their daily life. Secondly, the financial support system at the government level should be more available to individuals. It is a fact that people from poorer families tend to commit felonies due to a lack of money. There should be more alternative ways for individuals to avoid committing crimes rather than making prison sentences longer. To conclude, making prison sentences longer may make the situation worse. Therefore, the onus is on the government to support individuals with finances and give them opportunities to study for their future careers.