Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their car?

Nowadays, the number of cars has increased so much that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam.” This is mostly due to the wide availability of cars and the lack of public transport. Overuse of cars could be avoided by introducing toll roads or improving the public transport system. Firstly, the introduction of toll roads in cities would reduce traffic and help redirect cars around the outskirts of cities. For example, in Sweden, big cities like Stockholm have a toll system in the city centre to prevent too many people from entering. Therefore, taking advantage of cheap travel can ease congestion and prevent unnecessary trips inside the city. However, this only works if public transport is available to everyone. Secondly, public transport is a main factor in reducing car usage in cities. By improving tram lines and bike routes, people can be encouraged to use them and still reach their destination without losing time. Nevertheless, public transport has to be affordable and accessible to everyone to be beneficial. Countries like Singapore have very low traffic due to a highly developed public transport system. An approach like this can drastically reduce congestion and pollution in cities. Overall, reducing traffic can be achieved by introducing toll roads and making public transport more accessible for everyone. I firmly believe many cities have problems with too many cars, but cities like Singapore provide a good example that it is possible to reduce car usage.