People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that individuals should conform to the social convention of the host country when they begin to inhabit there. In my opinion, I totally agree with this point of view. Firstly, blending into the local environment can help foreigners to make friends easier. It is widely acknowledged that friendship is built by respect. When newcomers start a new life in a new country, they can show their respect by adapting to the social behaviour of their current community. As a result, new inhabitants can gain affection and appreciation of local residents and it will be more convenient for them to build the connection between themselves and native people. For that reason, the cultural barrier might be lifted and there might be no more obstacles to make the circle of friends wider and wider. Secondly, adapting to the social norms of the new country can broaden the cultural knowledge of new visitors. It can be explained by the fact that when new residents inhabit in their adopted homeland, they will have a chance to experience an array of local festivals. Hence, new immigrants can see the differences between two different cultures. A good example of this is the Chinese Lunar New Year, which is a traditional festival in China but not popular in Western countries. A Westerner can learn a lot through this yearly celebration such as the history of Lunar New Year, why lucky money is given to children and so on. In conclusion, I believe that accepting to conform to the local customs is beneficial for newcomers in terms of being able to have more friends and gain more knowledge about culture. Therefore, I completely agree with this opinion.