In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pay for them. Do you think the advantages of using government money to pay for college and university fees outweigh the disadvantages?

Governmental funding for tertiary education is always debatable. Some may think that government should pay the tertiary education fees for students, while others do not agree. In this essay, I will discuss the drawbacks and benefits of government spending on college and university fees and explain why I support the arrangement. To begin with the drawbacks, the most worrying aspect of using government money on college and university fees is that it would leave a huge financial burden to the government. As we may know that the cost of running a university is not a small amount of money. For example, in 2019/2020, the expenditure of the University of Hong Kong was more than ten billion. There are ten universities in Hong Kong. If all the university students are supported by the Hong Kong government, a hundred billion is then required each year. In other words, to finance tertiary education require a large amount of investment in the long run. However, we should also take the benefits into consideration. One of the advantages of tertiary education is that university students usually acquire professional skills and knowledge. The more the university students graduated, the more professional workforce the society has. It would bring intellectual advancement and thus contributes to the growth and development of a country. For example, if more people are trained in information technology, they will be able to contribute to the advancement in different areas through information technology. Thus, in the long run, the financial status and well-being of society will be ensured. In conclusion, although supporting university students financially is a huge expenditure, it can treat as an investment. It is because it will lead to the better development of a society.