International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the enviroment. Do the disadvantages of International tourism outweight the advantages?

Due to globalisation, the global tourism industry has had many positive influences on many notions, but this has also come at a cost to their domestic individuals as well as the natural environment. This essay aims to investigate both of the perspectives and from my view, it is partly agreed that the disadvantages of it outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, tourism has some negative influences on domestic habitats and natural surroundings. Firstly, local citizens are limited to buying their amenities due to the shop's homogeneity. In order to cater for foreign visitors’ needs, many shopping malls are occupied with different kinds of luxurious stores such as jewellery, watches, and cosmetic shops, rather than amenity stores and supermarkets. As a result, it’s difficult for local inhabitants to purchase products for their daily use. Furthermore, ocean habitat is deteriorating because of the huge number of river cruises from day to night. For instance, global travellers tend to take speedy boats to discover dolphins, so it leads to the destruction of the marine ecosystem. On the other hand, it is evident that global tourism has effectively boosted the local economy, especially for the retail industries and hospitality industries. As travellers demand these services when they stay in a place for a period of time, it subsequently creates job opportunities for the local citizens to work with tourism -related jobs, ranging from tour guides to hotel managers. Moreover, government incomes could be enhanced because of the visitors spending money on different categories of services. As a result, government would make the best use of this income to improve the local infrastructures such as constructing more hospitals and providing free internet to the public. Hence, it seems that tourism is beneficial to the community. In conclusion, it seems that the disadvantages outweigh partly the advantages. Even though the environment and the local people have been affected due to the development of tourism, it is apparent that the domestic economy and government incomes have made a great improvement by attracting more visitors to travel around.