Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

With the dawn of the new millennium, it has become a routine to screen the students before granting them admission in the nursery class. Obviously, as the population expanded, this novel concept became generalised throughout the world. Parents now faced the challenge of delivering the first chapters of various schooling subjects at home. This would enable their child to face the interviewers during the admission process. Some institutions judge their upcoming entrants on the basis of plain academical abilities while others prefer to give equal importance to different extra-curricular skills. Accordingly, let us take a look at each approach one by one. Academics are an indispensable part of any pupil’s life. In order to secure admission for a graduation course and beyond, it is mandatory for everyone to get a decent rank in the entrance examination. This has become a norm, especially in developing countries like India. But having such objective assessment tests is a need of the hour when you consider the sheer number of students applying for any degree. This in turn helps to prevent any inequalities at each institution level. On the other hand, most of the Ivy League colleges in the United States and prestigious universities like Oxford and Cambridge, give a lot of importance to the skills acquired by the applicants other than just their academic prowess. Thus, schools have adopted these policies. Such places now also consider sports, arts and musical achievements while judging an applicant. This creates an amalgamation of learners who are good at a variety of subjects. Hence, the child can be exposed to a confluence of different thoughts, abilities and cultures. In the end, this would help the pupil to chose a career in the subject he likes the most. To sum up, I am of the opinion that educational institutions should not restrict their selection criterions to marks and ranks. It is always better to have children with different abilities studying together. This will not only help them in developing their own personality, but also make them respect individuals working in every other field.