Some people say that the advertisements extremely successful at persuading us to buy things, others think advertisements is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Companies spend a lot of money on advertisements to promote their products. They advertise their products for various reasons – to target old or existing customers, to build a brand image, to attract new customers, to boost sales. Nowadays the companies launch various attractive discounts, coupons, subscriptions benefits to attract customers and to increase sales. Companies use different modes to promote their products such as TV ads, ads on social media, banners, radio, and other marketplaces. There is no denying the fact that advertisements are extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. It leaves a compelling effect on people ’s mind that enable them to buy things. The changes in the branding of a product or adding catchy taglines help to imprint impressions in people ’s brains, which later persuade them to buy that particular product. One major objective of advertisement is that it manipulates you and ticks you to buy products at times that is practical of no use. Whereas there are people, who think that advertising is so common that they no longer pay attention to it. Probably, these people have seen a particular ad many times that they are well aware of that product or they had purchased it in the past. For instance, a person who has purchased coke so many times in the past and is well aware of its taste, the ad may no longer persuade him to buy it. Therefore, those ad highlights no longer attract such people and they simply ignore them. However, some discount offers or special offers may attract such customers to buy them more. In addition, some ads use eye catchy pictures/images to grab people ’s attention to target new customers in the market. Another point is that the ad or marketing companies Photoshop and feature celebrities to make it more appealing to the buyers. There are both advantages and disadvantages of advertisements. However, I strongly feel that advertisements influence people by altering their thinking and encouraging them to buy.