The continued ride in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The ever-growing world population is arguably the most serious issue confronting people in modern times. This phenomenon can be attributed to two factors and I am of the opinion that it presents an unparalleled challenge as it can lead to two dire consequences. Firstly, advances in medicine have contributed to human longevity and propagation. Such incurable diseases as smallpox and malaria have become nearly non-existent thanks to vaccination and chronic conditions are now controllable with proper medication and surgery. These help humans to live longer and make it easier for them to multiply. Besides, improved agricultural technology ensures a stable and steady food supply for humanity. Farming used to be labour-intensive and provided limited crop yields. Nowadays, automation in farming, such as agri-robots, produces crops incessantly, and modern irrigation facilities and pesticides keep our fields from the danger of drought and pests. As people have abundant food, their growth in number is much faster than before. From my perspective, no crisis we have experienced so far is comparable with the continuous rise in the global population. One primary concern is that it can result in food shortages on a global scale. Despite modern technology, food -producing and arable land across the world is rapidly shrinking. As studies have shown, by 2050, the food supply will have to triple to be sufficient. It is thus conceivable that humanity will ultimately face unprecedented famine. In addition, nature will be in jeopardy in the longer term. Industrial activities produce a lot of waste and pollution. Also, increasing urbanization reduces animals’ habitats. To recapitulate, progress in medicine and sufficient food supply are two driving forces for the world population to increase all the time. In my opinion, it is probably the worst crisis in history as it can result in a massive dearth of food and cause further damage to nature.