Many children are encoraged by their parents to get a part time. What are the advantages and disadvantage to children of doing so?

From the dawn of time, people had to work to provide their initial necessities. In today’s climate, the issue of children getting a part-time job is a controversial minefield. While it is rational to accept that a part-time job can sometimes have a negative effect, it seems that they are more likely to bring benefits. The main justification why working in a part-time job would not be fruitful is that it can affect children ’s studies. Due to having a small window of time and a tight schedule, children may have not much time to spend on their homework. An illustration of this fact is a student who is at school until the afternoon, after that, he goes to work until night. When he gets home, he is too tired to study for exams. Another drawback is the fact that part-time jobs do not have job security. In case of bad financial situations, the company prefers to rebuild them rather than full-time workers. This can cause embarrassment to children, and consequently, depression and anxiety. On the other hand, it could be argued that these disadvantages are not comparable to its merits. The first plus point is that children can have work experience by working in a part-time job. After graduation, they can find work more easily since employers are looking for job seekers who are familiar with the workspace. As an example, in the United States, only 10 percent of the students who had job experience were jobless in 2019. The next benefit is that children learn how to manage their money. They do not budget when they are spending their parent's money unless it is their hard-earned money. Therefore, it may prepare them for adulthood life. What can be concluded from the discussion revolving around children having a part-time job is that its merits surpass the possible pitfalls it could bring.