University students are increasingly study abroad as a part of their studies. Do advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend of making part of degrees in other institutions around the world is currently increasing among university students. Although students will often struggle with cultural and linguistic challenges while abroad, they will also gain significant life experience that will reward them later in their careers. In my opinion, studying abroad is far better for the long-term future despite the problems that might be faced. The main benefit of studying overseas is that students will have precious life experiences that will improve them as people. Being in another country required them to move out from their comfort zone to novel situations. That would have been otherwise impossible if these graduates had only studied in their motherlands. For instance, when I studied in Finland at the age of 12, I tend to blend more easily and effortlessly as I was surrounded by people from different backgrounds. For that reason, this struggle is paradoxically the main advantage of studying abroad because it will make you an open-minded person. The major challenges that students will face while overseas will usually be from cultural and linguistic differences. These obstacles could make people fearful of interaction with locals, moreover, this would be a massive issue. To illustrate, while taking a course in Greece, I used to make a fool of myself in order to communicate with natives in their language. I felt embarrassed and I longed to speak Russian and be in the familiarity of my own culture.  To conclude, there is a large number of pupils who prefer receiving higher education in foreign countries. This provides more opportunities for career growth as well as for enhancing practical and learning skills, though the student may experience a culture shock. Therefore, it is obvious that foreign education privileges are superior to its drawbacks.