Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Technology has made incredible advancements in the past decade. The Internet has taken the world by storm. Today everyone has access to information through mobile phones and computers. I do believe that these gadgets are taking place of the books. However, I also agree that books still hold their special place. It is a fact that a wide percentage of the population now owns devices such as mobile phones, tablets and laptops. Any information today is just a few clicks away. Firstly, the internet serves as a huge source of data and with the development of search engines and mobile applications, people don't have to wait for a book or a concerned person to acquire knowledge about any topic. Secondly, the internet also has many applications such as youtube, online games and ebooks to keep people entertained and people don't have to spend on books for that. Furthermore, social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc. serve as both, a source of information as well as entertainment. However, not everything available on the internet can be trusted. A great deal of information is incorrect and misleading. Also, spending too much time in front of the screen is not good for eye health. People still go to the libraries and book shops in huge numbers which proves that there is a significant number of book lovers that continue to enjoy buying and reading books. Reading would continue to be a popular and favourite pastime for people, be it now or in the future. To conclude, I would say that although the internet has served as a great source of knowledge and entertainment but people would continue to adore books and books would not lose their shine.