Many companies use advertisements to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make an advertisement effective? Is it a good thing or a bad thing for society.

Effective advertising persuades consumers to buy a certain merchandise by convincing them that their product or service is necessary for daily life and is used routinely by celebrities. As a result, although advertisements may be fundamental for economic growth, many people including me believe that they promote consumer culture and increase financial pressure on families. Companies use television advertisements to improve their sales by making the viewers believe their products are vital for daily life, even if they are not actually so. For instance, in Canada, where I live, there are numerous television ads about how Multi Vitamins help improve health status. As a matter of fact, people do not usually need these supplements if they have a proper diet but most of them are not aware of that and so, they opt to buy supplemental vitamins. Another popular method of attracting buyers in public advertisements is to demonstrate famous people using a product, since many citizens copy celebrities' behaviour. For example, there are numerous ads in Toronto subway trains that show professional athletes use protein shakes after work out, which gives the idea that these drinks are important for having a fit body. Therefore, people are intrigued to purchase these products, which increase their sale. However, there are those who argue that these advertisement methods are enhancing consumer culture in the society since they increase the demand for new products. Moreover, these promotion methods put financial pressure on families as they need to spend more to fulfil the promoted requirements. I believe this is a major drawback for advertisements in our time. In conclusion, an effective advertising is what manipulates people to believe a manufacture is vital for life and popular among celebrities. However, it can increase consumer culture and challenge families economy. Many companies use advertisements to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make an advertisement effective? Is it a good thing or a bad thing for society. Many companies use advertisements to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make an advertisement effective? Is it a good thing or a bad thing for society.