Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. But increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

With the development of advanced medical treatment and social quality, people’s living lifespan has been prolonged in many countries all around the world. However, the tendency of ageing population is mainly detrimental for both individuals and society. A plethora of advanced consequences of prolonging life expectancy can be seen. Firstly, the continued boost of the average lifespan would result in excessive population all around the world that creates a burden of individuals including the rise in the family expenditure. For an instant, when the overall death rate is low, the average number of families would be extended, as a result, it would be a difficult task for those who brings home the bacon, and the older people would not be potent to act as the helping hands of their children. Moreover, the reduction in the death rate would put the government in a kettle of fish on account of the fact that the legislators would have to incur expenses related to medical treatments for the elderly populace, therefore, this sort of practice would decline the ratio of funds that could be invested in generating fruitful employee opportunities for the scholars. To cite an example, when there would a large proportion of retired people in the nation, the higher authorities would have to pay heed in proffering pensions, established hospitals, insurance schemes in order to keep folks alive, instead of providing lucrative jobs. To recapitulate, although, it is crucial for the councils to protect the lives of senior residents, yet the unfavourable consequences of continuously increasing average life span cannot be neglected. Thus, the regime should maintain equilibrium between health-care services for the older and other facilities.