We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, technology is widespread all over the world. Although the use of the internet has tons of advantages, some believe that the disadvantages in terms of being safe, far exceed the advantages. Throughout this essay I will either agree or disagree with this statement. Firstly, I will discuss the positive sides related to the use of the Internet and,, secondly I will explore the negative side, it can bring about. One of the biggest pros of using online services is that every activity is made easier. In other words, we can do almost everything, sitting on our couch. For example, there are a lot of websites, called e-shops, thanks to which, we can buy goods without going out from our houses and looking for them in local markets. Another reason to use the Internet is that it boosts the economy and employment. Ever since online services will exist, companies will need to employ developers and IT workers for maintaining their websites. For instance, every time an e-shop runs out of a given product, a worker has to inform the visitors of the site and make them aware of when the object will be available again. On the other hand, one of the biggest disadvantages of the Internet is that there is not really an authority that can control it. Consequently, by surfing on the Net, it is extremely easy to stumble upon frauds. To make an example, when you’re looking for a particular website through a search engine (such as Google), you may visit another site instead, which was created with no aim but to steal your private information. Nevertheless, there is some software, which we can use, to be less endangered by these threats. Notably, this software prevents us from visiting maligned websites, by filtering them thanks to a database created by experts. An example of this service is called a firewall, whose aim is to control every file we download from the Net. In conclusion, the use of the Internet has really, for many aspects, made our life simpler, even though there are some threats everyone should be cautious about. However, in my opinion, we can easily get rid of these fake websites, by teaching the worldwide population how to use the Internet in a more secure way.