Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communications has had a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, modern technology has been developing and it has changed almost all spheres of our lives. For some individuals, this technological development brings positive results, whereas others consider that it affects the reading and writing abilities of the young generation in a negative way. I partly agree with this statement as such kind of breakthrough in the technological era gives not only educational improvement from one side but also the loss of essential skills for young people. Undoubtedly, today’s discoveries in technological devices and gadgets bring many positive sides. To be specific, personal computers and smartphones have entered our lives instantly, changing and giving an ease in almost everything. For example, education in secondary schools for students and teachers has become more simple and easier, using these innovations and computers. Even when there were some restrictions during COVID-19, the educational process did not stop with the help of necessary digital equipment. Moreover, this development of technology and the use of the Internet help young people to adapt even in complicated situations. All this improvement has helped the young generation to develop and stay in the process of studying constantly. On the other hand, these technological types of devices as computers and mobile phones have the other side of the coin in terms of negative impact on the development of the youth. Put simply, these kinds of technology do not always have positive results. Take, for instance, the reading and writing abilities of the students. If in the past, pupils and students in educational institutions read and write a lot whether it was dictation or lecture, today they are lazier to do it. Instead of writing seminars, young people usually take the ready resource on the Internet and without reading it, they give it to the teacher. As a result, these habits for using the new technologies bring a lack of aforementioned skills such as reading and writing. In light of the above, I think that innovations in technology and the usage of modern equipment have many beneficial sides, but simultaneously they have some drawbacks also, especially in the development of the young generation.