Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Recently, more funds have been invested in developing the required machinery for space exploration, and this has raised questions of whether there might be more beneficial sectors to invest in. I believe that investment in extratrrestrial research is justified, although it shouldn't be at the detriment of other sectors. Opponents of space exploration usually argue that several socioeconomic issues, such as poverty, poor educational opportunities, inadequate healthcare and environmental pollution, are more pressing issues that require immediate solutions. From their perspective, the large sum invested in space missions is wasteful because it has no immediate benefits for ordinary citizens, and so it is difficult to justify such spending. They instead propose that these resources should be invested in improving the standard of living and providing essential public amenities. The proponents, on the other hand, are focused on the long-term benefits of space technology to society. Several innovations, including but not limited to satellite communication, GPS navigation, disaster monitoring systems and weather forecasts, are due to space exploration. These technologies play important roles in daily activities, while also contributing significantly to economic development and public safety. Furthermore, space exploration drives scientific innovation, the creation of new industries and high-skilled jobs, which can come together and help humanity prepare for extreme future challenges. To conclude, while socioeconomic issues need to be prioritised, excluding space programmes would create negative long-term effects. Rather, space research should still be invested because when managed responsibly, space technology alongside social and economic development would lead to significant beneficial outcomes in the future.