Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that to travel or work abroad is the only reason for a person to learn a new language, while others argue that there are also other reasons. Although a person may not need to use another language when living in their own country, I agree with the latter view because those who can speak another language are more likely to become successful individuals. On the one hand, it can be argued that people living in their own country may find no occasion to communicate in another language. This is because they can accomplish any task using their mother tongue, such as doing a project at work, ordering food at a restaurant or shopping at a grocery store. However, I disagree with this argument because,with globalization, the chances of a person needing to interact with a foreigner even when they are in their own country have greatly increased, which makes foreign language learning necessary. On the other hand, learning a second language can increase a person’s chances of success in life. Thanks to social media, one now can connect with and learn from people in other countries without flying to those countries as long as one speaks their language. Take the Chinese entrepreneur Alex Wong, for example, He would not have been able to go from being broke to being a multi-millionaire if he had not mastered English, which allowed him to network with and get inspiration from American businessmen on the Facebook group. I agree with this opinion because after all, everyone wants success in life. To summarise, while there may be no need for people living in their native country to use a foreign language. I believe those who have acquired one are more likely to succeed in life.