Some people think that parents should be punished if their children commit crimes because they are responsible for their children's actions To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many, if not all, people think that parents have the biggest influence on their children's lives. Therefore, some people believe that parents should bear the punishment for the crimes their children commit. In my opinion, parents should face a penalty for the actions of the child to a certain extent. There are a few notable moments over the past decade - for instance, the death of Harambe was one of them. The story went viral on social media, with everyone expressing their feelings over Harambe being put down after a child fell into his enclosure at the zoo. An innocent animal faced an unexcusable ending due to no fault of his own. Many people thought this to be unfair and that the mother should be held accountable for allowing the child to get so close to the edge. It was one of the unifying stories of the decade where almost everyone wanted justice for Harambe. In this, we face the notion that guardians are responsible for their children and thus they deserve punishment for the actions of the child. A more recent example is the ruling which states that parents of suicide school shooters in the States should be reprimanded for the terrorist activities of their child. Those teenagers who shoot up a school and then turn the gun on themselves, do not face the penalties of their actions, thus since justice must be served, the parents are charged as accessories. Unfortunately, this is more of a grey area in my opinion. Most school shooters are teenagers and anyone who knows about child -rearing understands the difficulties of raising a teen. They are more exposed to the world and have different influences. In this case, there may not be a direct link between the actions of the child and the upbringing of the parent. in conclusion, I believe everything should be examined as a case-by-case situation. There must be a direct link between the crimes of the child and the influence of the parent in order for them to be charged. Then, and only then, is there a valid reason for doing so.