Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Taking a gap year before higher education, so that they can spend that time going abroad or doing casual jobs, is becoming popular these days. Although there is a contentious argument whether the benefits of this is more significant than its drawbacks, I believe that this is more advantageous. On the one hand, it is indeed true that there are some downsides to taking a break between high school study and university or college learning. The main reason for this is that the cost of taking a gap year tend to be expensive due to the exceptional expenses such as plane tickets and living costs in foreign countries if you decide to go abroad. Even if you stay in your country and do some casual jobs, the earnings from the jobs are likely to be low as you usually do not have any qualifications or experience immediately after finishing high school. Without the support from your parents, in this case, you need to be dependent on them to live and can not achieve your independence which should be learned during the gap year. On the other hand, numerous merits are present in having a respite from study and experiencing different events apart from school studies. First of all, this could prevent students from burning out and aid them to perform better at university when they get in there. Since becoming a university student is not an easy task, they have to put a huge effort into studying and thus, they would be exhausted if there is no gap ahead of more difficult studies. Secondly, some students actually go to university or college without any passion that they really want to pursuit. Consequently, they might take part in another study later, which cost them further. However, if you go abroad to travel or to take part in volunteer work or casual jobs in different cultures, they might be able to not only widen their view to see the world but also find their future career through these precious experiences. Therefore, this could result in saving more time and money. In conclusion, although there is a huge disadvantage to overcome, travelling abroad or obtaining some work experiences beforehand is crucial and advantageous for all students.