Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

At present, the world we are living in witnesses an enormous rise in technology and science. This rise intertwines with the need for scientific research. Research is sometimes carried out by the government, sometimes by private companies. Some people argue that the government, rather than enterprises, should conduct and control scientific research. Personally, I strongly agree with this statement. On the one hand, there are two main dangers when private sectors carry out scientific research. Firstly, the results may be flawed due to their profit motive. Additionally, some research carried by private agencies can cause detrimental affection. For example, some chemical toxic (thalidomide), when being released into the air can put the citizens in jeopardy, particularly with unborn children, who can be malformed at birth. Moreover, at an ethical level, when conducting scientific research, some private companies will not prioritize the social consequences. Take the mutant plant as a prime example, these types of plants will obscenely jeopardize the population's health when being put in markets for sales. On the other hand, I strongly reckon that the government should be in charge of carrying out scientific research because of two main advantages. First, universities under national administration can conduct high-quality research more than private companies do. In addition, they can also share the knowledge with the citizens with a view to raise their awareness. Furthermore, the government -decision making is the best way to allocate the state budget on the areas of research that must be prioritized, in other words, they know what their countries need to become better in the future. One prime example is the development of renewable energy to meet the growing demands. To summarize, I consider that research should be conducted by the government rather than private companies due to the safety of society.