Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that higher education should be freely available to everyone regardless of their economic background. Whereas in my opinion, I disagree with this statement, due to income inequality among the population and the quality of education. Further, this essay will elaborate on this notion. To begin with, one might argue that education is a fundamental right of any human being and income levels cannot determine how much you can learn. However, there is an instability in the earnings of the society. Therefore, it is necessary to aid the less fortunate. For instance, it is unfair to provide free education to someone is who wealthy, compared to another who is struggling to win his or her daily bread. Thus, it is fair to make university studies affordable for everyone, depending on their earning capability. In addition to the above, if education is free, the quality of service provided could be considerably low. This is mainly due to the lack of competition and the motive of profit-making. For example, a plethora of academic institutions are aggressively competing to render the best possible education to students. Nevertheless, given the situation that there is no benefit for these organizations, as a result, the standard of education is likely to deteriorate over time. In conclusion, it can be said that even though free learning is a good thing, it is not practically possible to execute in real terms. Moreover, considering the unequal income levels and the quality of service, it is significant to provide education at a reasonable price.