Nowadays many students choose to take a year off before entering university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of taking a year off, and give your own opinion about whether it is a good idea.

It is true that more and more students are taking a gap year before pursuing higher education. While there are certainly some drawbacks for students who make this decision, I believe that taking a gap year before entering university is beneficial overall. On the one hand, there are several difficulties that students who take a gap year may experience. Firstly, they may need financial support from their families such as living costs, housing, bills and other expenses. For example, a student from a lower-income family may need to work for tuition and seek more part-time jobs. It is impossible for students to take a break for a year without family support. Secondly, they may struggle to cope with their family relationships because their family needs to give some support, both in terms of financial and spiritual conventions. Finally, entering university a year later may put students behind with their high school classmates, and some students may feel lonely and disconnected from them. On the other hand, taking a gap year before attending university can be extremely rewarding. The main benefit for students who want to take a break before taking tertiary education is to recharge their batteries. Letting their hair down and just having fun may help them feel refreshed and be ready for the next stage. Another advantage for students that take a year off is to gain more working experience. For instance, such working experience may look good on their CVs, which could lead them to compete for better positions in the university. The other advantage of taking a year off is more personal; it can help students learn some skills for their later life, gain different experiences and introduce them to a new network of friends. In conclusion, I believe that the trend of taking a year off before entering university is a positive one, especially if the students are able to overcome the difficulties that they are likely to face.