Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

What people believe about others is a daily topic. Many individuals think that selection of clothing is a reflection of culture and character. I completely disagree with the aforementioned statement and will expatiate my stance with a few lucid examples. To begin with, most of the selection of clothing is based on many factors. Among, them individual financial capability plays a major role in peoples’ styles. Persons with a lower budget is automatically restricted to lower price clothes although their cultural suggestion might be with expensive clothing’s. For an instance, only a very small portion of the population in Sri Lanka can purchase suites from Hameedia even once a life because of the extreme price tags of dresses there. Moreover, some of the billionaires does not stick with branded and expensive dresses. As a result, it is not ethically correct to judge persons with the quality or brand of their styles. Another underlying argument against the above statement is character is not depended on individuals’ dressings. The prominent features of the characteristics would be education, personality, behaviour and attitudes of the person rather than the way that person dress. The character of the persons always can be understood with the association of them closely for a certain period of time. Most of the time, It would be a poor understanding if people try to decide about personal characteristics at the first glance through the reflection of clothing. To give a clear example, The United Nations meeting with all the country leaders of the world can be seen in one place. Some world leaders can be seen with the same way of dressing with different characters and another way round as well. To conclude, indeed it is not fair enough to say many individuals’ appearance is related to cultural rules and how they behave.