Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is widely said that most households have no habit of recycling; therefore, it is commonly believed that governments should make recycling mandatory. While the environment may benefit greatly from new legislation, it seems to me that it is not the only measure governments could take to eliminate the effects of waste on our living world. On the one hand, that governments enforce a new recycling law would be a great solution to a great deal of environmental issues.Many householders do not acknowledge the seriousness of environmental pollution with which they have to deal in this day and age; for that reason, they tend to give little attention to protecting our Mother Earth. As a consequence, by making recycling obligatory, the citizens, in general, may start to strengthen their awareness of the contaminated living areas around them. The failure to adhere to this could lead households to a wide range of punishments, such as fines and community service. In short, recycling law would act as a major deterrent, and lead to better behavior. On the other hand, I do believe that compared to punishment, education about the present problems could gain more positive results. That governments bring law into effect does not, in some cases, prevent people from committing it. There may be certain groups of people who claim this law is illogical; then they have no reason to obey it. Furthering citizens’ knowledge about the current environment state and the necessity to protect it will be a better solution. For example, Schools should always emphasize the impacts of household waste and the utmost importance in making use of it again to students. In conclusion, the governments should consider making recycling a legal obligation; however, it is not the only way to encourage people to recycle more and more.