Some people think that money is the best gift for teenagers. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the ultra-modern era, it is of immense debate amongst those who think money should be given as a present to teenagers, while the rest opine that money can be harmful when handed over to teens. This essay will look into both aspects prior to drawing a meaningful view. On the one hand, there are a multitude of reasons why individuals think that money can be good for youngsters. The first and foremost reason is that they will become aware of the usage of the money. When they receive money, they will know better when to spend it or where to spend it. Moreover, it will also help them build their financial skills more strongly. For example, if they receive toys as a gift when they are 5, those gifts will not be useful to them when they grow older. But if they get money instead, they can save it to buy something useful whenever they wish. Thus, money can be helpful to them irrespective of their age. On the other hand, proponents of the latter viewpoints also uphold valid arguments and illustrate that money should not be given to youngsters on any occasion, whether it is a birthday or the celebration of some achievement. The most significant reason is that when children are young, they do not have proper knowledge of the use of money. As a result, they might end up wasting it on unnecessary things. Besides this, another reason is that they might use money to buy illegal things. For instance, they might buy some drugs with the money without letting their parent know, and there are chances they will get addicted to them. Hence, money as a gift can be dangerous. To conclude, although gifting money as a present to youngsters has its benefits, there are major drawbacks to this as well, which cannot be neglected. However, after considering both perspectives, I believe it is clearer that the demerits of the statement are more harmful than the merits.