Some people believe that teenager should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can be benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Teenagers must study but they also have free time they can spend for the benefit of the society. Some people say that unpaid community work is a good choice for pupils to test their skills and to help others. I suppose that this kind of teen labour shall be strictly regulated for it not to harm anyone. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of community work for minors. On the one hand, community work can teach responsibility and empathy. For example, school students may take care of ill pets in the shelter. The animal shelter experience is useful to understand the needs of other creatures without words and to become patient and kind. Moreover, such projects as pet adoption centres often survive without the financial support of a state so it is good for them to involve unpaid employees. Hence volunteering is able to make the world better. On the other hand, the main purpose of teenagers is to study. That is why many legislations encompass rules which restrict the labour of underage workers, namely the prohibition to work more than 6 hours for persons between 14 and 16. Although sometimes community work may even help to improve grades there is no doubt that boys and girls between 12 and 18 get tired more easily than grown-ups which can result in failure to fulfil basic obligations. Besides, they do not know how to protect their rights in case employers exploit them. Therefore, it is necessary to consider all the disadvantages before letting pupils work for free. In conclusion, school students should volunteer for the common good and self-improvement but under conditions stipulated in the law. It is recommended that a state controls teen labour.