Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

A study has been shown that most prisoners commit crimes after being released from jail. I personally believe that the main reason this happens is the companionships in prison and the most viable solution will be creating more employment opportunities. Putting offenders behind the bars is an ancient solution and it has been working like this since the beginning. As psychology says "show me your five friends I will tell who you are'; this proverb shows that a man's character has a huge influence on his surrounding people. Therefore, when someone spends time as a prisoner, he meets some other fellow criminal and perhaps learns new techniques for the next assignment. For example, Law and Justice Ministry in India did a survey on second -time offenders to see the reason why the traditional punishment system did not change that person and the data shows they were influenced by others while they spend their time in prison. To tackle this problem the government should think about correction centres for petty criminals like shoplifters. Although there are some criminals who need major punishments, there are some other lawbreakers who do something wrong due to necessities for living. For instance, in the Time of Corona Virus a person from Chittagong, Bangladesh had stolen a pack of formula milk from a supermarket before he got caught by the police. He told his story of sorrows to the police and shop manager that he had lost his job due to the pandemic and did not have a single penny in his pocket to buy food for his thirty days old son; after hearing this the chain show offer him a position, If they put him in lockup, he might come back as a genuine shoplifter. In conclusion, as the study shows if a person stays in prison he does the analogous crime again and to overcome this situation major culprits should have major punishment whereas small offences can be corrected by providing jobs.