Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem and how could the situation be improved

Traffic congestion in urban areas is one of the widespread issue world is facing today and it is causing huge problems for the citizens like increased travel time This essay will discuss the various reasons with possible solutions which can help to curb this issue. To start with, there are several causes for this development. The first and foremost, is the city infrastructure. To elaborate, roads are designed to cater for the limited capacity, but due to overuse, these paths are brimming leading to traffic congestion. For instance, Bengaluru, the tech hub of India, is infamously known for its jam bottlenecks because of poor infrastructure. The second reason is excessively relying on private vehicles. To put more light on it, public transport is limited in the metropolitans due to urban sprawl and people prefer to use their own vehicles for daily commutes resulting in overcrowding on roads. Another cause is the increasing population, people from rural areas are moving to cities in order to live a better life, whereas infrastructure is outdated There is indeed no problem without a solution. To start with the government must improves the health of the roads and their construction can be delegated to third parties to ensure quality and save time. Additionally, the administrators must forecast future requirements and infrastructure must be designed accordingly to combat unplanned city expansion. Moreover, to reduce the volume of private carriers, the public officers must ensure the availability of common transport, so the common man can leverage it rather than depending on their personal cars. For example, the frequency of the metro in Delhi enables a smooth commute for workers. Furthermore, various townships  can be constructed in order to accommodate people moving from remote places  to residential areas. To conclude, prolonged travel time is primarily due to the poor infrastructure and volume of vehicles which can be tackled with the help of the government and by motivating the city dwellers to use  common means.