Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of students’ true knowledge and ability at university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this IELTS topic?

In the world of education, the evaluation of students’ knowledge and ability on several measurements has sparked a debate. Some considered that it is more important to give an evident overview of their capability with a formal, both written or practical, exam rather than allow them to learn through coursework and projects. I agree with the statement, and I will discuss some of my views regarding the topic in the following essay. To begin with, continuous assessment plays a vital role in providing a comprehensive understanding of one's abilities. By taking on several courses which are free to choose, they can have a broader knowledge beyond the required subjects. However, those particular materials are still not acceptable at some level of university because they only provide an added value to them. Therefore, it is still necessary to take some formal examinations because not every ongoing lesson undertaken by the scholar is worth depicting as a measure of proper ability. On the other hand, continuous assessments have gained popularity in contemporary educational systems because they offer opportunities to engage with real-world tasks and explore issues that are relevant rather than abstract. However, this type of evaluation has its drawbacks, primarily the risk of a superficial understanding of the subject matter. For example, a student may spend the majority of their preparation time on it, leading to less focus on other topics and, ultimately, a decline in overall subject knowledge. Yet, it is still necessary to conduct formal examinations to provide a clear analysis of teenager's understanding towards their main subjects or studies. Ultimately, it is necessary to have an exact grade while taking formal examinations as a value of learning at the university level.