Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that pupils should be given additional tasks for completing them at home, while others believe that it is absolutely unnecessary. In my opinion, I believe that although it has some negative sides, overall homework plays an essential part in the process of getting an education. A growing body of research suggests that homework have a generally positive effect on the study progress. One key benefit is that doing assignments can help to memorize the material better as you spent some additional time studying. This can boost the assimilation of the material. Taking system education in China as an example, where after school children have to spend hours doing assignments on a mandatory basis. It is clear that the most important factor is the quality of complied tasks, not only its presence, but homework can contribute a lot to the study process. However, there are also some negative impacts that must be considered. One important issue is that homework used to take an enormous amount of time, which can lead to stress. For instance, some offspring can start to suffer from overwork, tiredness, pressure. These factors have a terrible influence on youngsters and their future life. Although some pressure can help to build a resistance to stress, it can be argued that stress has a negative impact on children’s mental health. In conclusion, although it can take a lot of time which can lead to overwork and stress, it is clear that completing homework have a beneficial impact on the study process as a whole. In my opinion, despite having some negative effects, I believe that minors should be given homework. However, I would argue that the school council should keep an eye on the number of given tasks in order to protect children from stress.