Many people have a close relationship with their pets. These people treat their birds, cats, or other animals as members of their family. In your opinion, are such relationships good? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people have a close relationship with their pets. We, humans, are social creatures, and bonding between individuals often transcends across species. To treat someone as a member of a family is to give respect to the individual. Yes! In my opinion, such relationships are wonderful, but here we must add a caution. One's relationship with one's pet should not discomfort others. Let us explore this situation a little more with pertinent examples and reasons. Pets come to the life of people as a means of companionship. Indeed the phrase, "The dog is a man's best friend", has been connotated to emphasize this bonding between humans and pets. Pets also serve vital roles, like, being a watchdog, giving milk, carrying a load etc. Another heart-warming feature about pets is that they provide unconditional love and attention. For example, we know how pets help the elderly cross the streets and navigate traffic. Thus, it is obvious that people will bond closely with their pets. These relationships also foster our respect for other creatures and nature. However, there is a catch to this context. For example, imagine the situation, where a person has a pet python. Although, this person loves his python, it is a carnivore and needs to be maintained with utmost caution. If such creatures are let out freely, thinking that they are but family members, then, they can harm others. Thus, pet owners should be aware of their pet's nature and temperament and act accordingly. In conclusion, the bond between a pet owner and his companion is a deep, entrusting and rewarding relationship and must be admired. However, the owners must be urged to exercise adequate precaution to keep others safe.