As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have for the environment? What measures could be taken?

The tourism industry has gained heights in the past decades. People are more interested to go on vacations to other countries. Hence, the number of flights per day have risen considerably, thereby resulting in environmental issues. However, some methods could be applied to reduce these problems. To begin with, having additional flights have given rise to global warming due to the release of carbon dioxide while burning coal for the start of their engines. This has proved to be dangerous for the environment. For instance, in recent studies, global warming is causing the temperature to increase drastically, thereby melting the polar caps quicker than predicted. Animals such as polar bears and penguins are losing their natural habitats in this process, making them prone to extinction. Moreover,the atmosphere gets hotter than usual which can lead to heatwaves affecting not only animals but also humans. Furthermore, aeroplanes that become obsolete are dumped into nature. This destroys the flora and fauna as the debris are not bio-degradable. Sometimes, these old machines are burnt in the Amazon forest without a proper guide. Hence, trees are also engulfed in this fire, hence causing massive destruction to the lungs of the earth. Consequently, the wildlife is affected. Nevertheless, some actions could be taken to avoid the excess of daily flights. One method is to keep the country attractive, mysterious and clean enough so that one feels less motivated to explore other countries. In addition to that, the government could organise cultural events during holidays to encourage the population to stay in their own country with a relaxed mood. To sum up, the increasing demand for flights definitely affects the environment in multiple ways. However, having proper planning, a clean environment and an active country can decrease the number of tourists per day.