In some countries more and more people are becoming interested in finding out bout the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

More public attention is given to the history of houses people live in. Even though the annual check-ups for buildings are mandatory in some regions of the world, inhabitants still have doubts about the conditions of their homes. We will examine causes that promote this trend and methods in order to collect information. Because of climate change, almost every continent of the world is affected by different natural disasters such as fires, floods, landslides. Moreover, the disastrous effects of earthquakes continue to harm lives. Nevertheless, scientists have found multiple ways to decrease the danger for many years while increasing awareness. Therefore, homeowners give much more attention to the building's age and renovation information to make them more durable. Another reason for this interest is the rise of TV shows about house renovations. These shows make people more curious about their properties. Finding information about a house's timeline is not a problem for developed countries since the owner must inform local authorities in each step of building or changing. However, in non-developed regions, local municipalities may not work efficiently, or citizens may not follow the rules. In such cases, requesting data from past owners, construction companies, or neighbours can be beneficial, considering they have the necessary knowledge. In conclusion, the most crucial reason for the willingness about the history of living areas is to increase the probability of surviving in catastrophic times, which is a natural instinct. Living in a safe and secure environment requires much more effort from residents. There are different sources to find out how the building came to today, but the most efficient one is reaching for local government archives.