Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. You should write at least 250 words.

Vaccination is now a vital part of the health industry and it can avert many dangerous diseases that can affect a child. It is argued that the government should regulate immunisation of children a compulsory aspect; nevertheless, it is also believed that every person should have the authority to opt for vaccinating their children or not. On the one hand, vaccinating children will make their immune systems stronger. The risk of getting an infection is presumably high when a child is born as they are exposed to many germs. To give an example, in 1918, many infants lost their lives because of a flu infection that spread across Spain. After the invention of the flu vaccine, many children were immunised and were saved from this deadly disease. To put it simply, vaccination can prevent diseases like measles and chickenpox and improve their immunity. On the other hand, some parents choose to avoid vaccinating their children because of a few side effects. For instance, after immunisation, children can have mild fever or redness at the injected area which also leads to swelling. This can cause great discomfort to a child. In addition, parents are scared to inject foreign substances into their child's body and they cannot see their little one's in pain. Therefore, many individuals feel the need to choose not to vaccinate their children. To conclude, although vaccinating children can have some adverse effects, it can help to fend off many dangerous diseases and build strong fighting mechanism towards infections. Moreover, temporary pain is better than permanent loss.