Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child's development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most siginificant influence. Discuss both views and opine.

It is argued that children are most influenced by their parents in their development, while others believe that outside influence has the most impact on them, such as television or friends. I think that while parents have the most influence because they have lived together since babies, environmental factors play a vital role in shaping children. On one hand, parents have more opportunities to lead on their children because they have been together with their babies since birth. Parents usually set certain rules in the house as guidance for their children on what is right and what is wrong, or to develop good habits. For example, children are taught to clean after themselves after a meal, brush their teeth before bed, or do chores together during weekends to keep the house clean and well-managed. However, I think that many of the young do not favour rules and advice. On the other hand, children are also heavily influenced by entertainment and friends. This is because they now enjoy a sense of friendship, the diversities from routine at home and probably more freedom outside, while movies and games on the television also portray another life that they never experienced at home. For instance, at a certain age many offspring start to ask their mother or father if they can sleep over at their friend's houses, so that they can spend more time together, playing and having fun. Hence, I think young children are more influenced by external factors than at home. In conclusion, I feel that even though some think that parents have the most impact on children's behaviour because they live together since birth, many children are strongly influenced by their peers and other entertainment like television and games.