Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others says that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most controversial issues today relates to the reason for learning a foreign language. Some individuals find it useful for travelling or searching for good work around the world, while others see other benefits in it. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view. On one hand, there are clear arguments that learning a second language for applying to a foreign university or a job brings a minimum of two strong benefits that make these individuals stand out from their rivals. One of the main reasons can be that this skill makes the student or employee flexible and easily fit into the new place. Another reason can be that the more possessions they have the more discounts on education or higher salary will be offered. For instance, the last Forbes research about the UK’s main information centre showed that employees who owed 1 or 2 international languages such as German and French were not as highly paid as ones who knew Chinese, Japanese or Hindi in addition to the latter. On the other hand, some individuals agree with the viewpoint that people should learn foreign languages to expand their intelligence. Firstly, they believe that working on their soft skills improves their memorizing knack. This is because the central nervous system works as people try to “fill” it by learning new grammar and vocabulary. Secondly, some geeks can use foreign language words in their speech to make it look spicy and appealing, in other words, to show off. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. It seems to me that the more languages a person has the more opportunities he has for education, job or everyday life.